This interactive, four-session course will explore the fundamentals of writing short fiction. Two hours a week, we will delve into a different element of style, including: setting, character development, dialogue and description.

Each class will begin with a conversation about style, followed by a writing exercise addressing that day’s theme. Students will have an opportunity to share these exercises with the class. The prompts will be a fun way to exercise techniques discussed at the beginning of class and will hopefully spark ideas for future projects.

Students will be asked to submit a short piece of writing to the instructor prior to each class.

In the second half of each lesson, everyone will read aloud from their submitted work and receive in-depth feedback from the instructor and their peers.

Eva Crocker is a freelance writer based in Montreal, her short story collection Barrelling Forward was a finalist for the Dayne Ogilvie Prize for Emerging LGBTQ Authors. The collection won the Canadian Authors’ Association Emerging Writer’s Award and the Alistair MacLeod Award for Short Fiction. Her non-fiction work has appeared in Maisonneuve Magazine, Border Crossings Magazine, Hamilton Review of Books, Visual Art News and Atlantic Books Today. Her debut novel All I Ask will be published by House of Anansi Press in June 2020.

powered by Typeform

If the above form doesn't display properly click here:

Details and Registration

Click here to return to the workshops catalog for general information about workshops, and answers to frequently asked questions.

See upcoming and in-progress schedules for this workshop. The price is $100 for four sessions; 6-8 participants per group.

Schedule (open)

  • Thursday, June 25, 11 am – 1 pm
  • Thursday, July 2, 11 am – 1 pm
  • Thursday, July 9, 11 am – 1 pm
  • Thursday, July 16, 11 am – 1 pm

Schedule (open)

  • Tuesday, June 30, 6 pm – 8 pm
  • Tuesday, July 7, 6 pm – 8 pm
  • Tuesday, July 14, 6 pm – 8pm
  • Tuesday, July 21, 6 pm – 8 pm

Schedule (in progress)

  • Thursday, May 28, from 6 pm – 8 pm
  • Thursday, June 4, from 6 pm – 8 pm
  • Thursday, June 11, from 6 pm – 8 pm
  • Thursday, June 18, from 6 pm – 8 pm

Schedule (in progress)

  • Friday, May 22,  11 am – 1 pm
  • Friday, May 29,  11 am – 1 pm
  • Friday, June 5,  11 am – 1 pm
  • Friday, June 12,  11 am – 1 pm

This workshop is open to all experience levels; it’s for anyone who’s interested in getting constructive feedback on works in progress, finding inspiration for new projects through short writing exercises, meeting fellow writers and hopefully making some friends.

If you would prefer private coaching, or another creative service, please use the form below to book a Zoom meeting, at a time of your choice. The suggested cost per hour is $40, negotiable. An invoice will be sent after your meeting.

Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!